A nonprofit publication of the Kentucky Center for Public Service Journalism

Nominations sought for 2021 James Madison Award, honoring Kentucky champion of the First Amendment

The University of Kentucky Scripps Howard First Amendment Center is accepting nominations for its James Madison Award, which honors a Kentuckian who is a champion of the First Amendment.

The center, in the College of Communication and Information’s School of Journalism and Media, is accepting nominations to recognize those whose contributions protect or expand First Amendment freedoms.

The nominator must submit a letter identifying the nominee, listing the nominee’s address, phone number and position and explain why the nominee would be a worthy recipient.

The letter should detail the specific efforts taken on behalf of First Amendment rights and should discuss obstacles and difficulties as well as the impact of the nominee’s efforts.

The James Madison Award was presented posthumously to NKY journalist and teacher Michael Farrell in 2019. Accepted by his family. (File photo)

The James Madison Award recognizes someone who has worked in one or more of these areas: open government and open records; promotion of the watchdog role of the press; defense against government or private censorship, or robust debate in the marketplace of ideas.

Nominees must have significant ties to Kentucky and their efforts must have resulted in the preservation or expansion of freedom of the press and/or freedom of speech. Dedication to the First Amendment principle of free expression is not accomplished in a day’s work but rather a lifetime.

Thus, the award recognizes a long-term commitment to such ideals.

Honorees do not have to be journalists. Nominees may include, for example, educators, lawyers, judges, scholars, librarians, students, or ordinary citizens. The most deserving recipient will be someone who has made a significant contribution regardless of how much public attention it has received.
Send nomination letters via email to John Cruz, School of Journalism and Media projects manager, at  john.cruz@uky.edu by Friday, Nov. 5.

This year’s State of the First Amendment Address and James Madison Award will be presented via Zoom on Wednesday, Nov. 17 at 5 p.m.

The featured speakers are Tom Miller and Elizabeth Woodford, the media law attorneys who successfully argued on behalf of the Kentucky Kernel in University of Kentucky vs. Kernel Press, Inc.

For more information about the James Madison Award and past winners, go to  https://ci.uky.edu/jam/james-madison-award.

Related Posts

Leave a Comment